Towns and Villages

Turquant

Between Montsoreau and Saumur, the tuffeau cliff overlooks the Loire and is pierced from one end to the other with a series of cellars, sometimes troglodyte dwellings, sometimes quarries…. The villages are born in the valleys that punctuate the hillside while vineyards and mills draw the line of the ridge. In Turquant more than elsewhere you can discover this Loire landscape so characteristic of the Côte Saumuroise. Today between tradition and modernity the troglodytes are discovered in all originality, particularly in the Village des Métiers d'Art.

History & Heritage

The origin of the name Turquant is made of uncertainty; from a Gallic root turcos meaning wild boar or from a Scandinavian male surname derived from the warrior god Thor, the etymology takes us back to well before the Middle Ages. However, it is only from 1125 that we find mention of the parish in the texts, a document quoting as prior a certain "G. de Turcham".

The Saint-Aubin church is built at the foot of the hill on unstable ground reclaimed from the bed of the river. Consequently, at the rate of the floods of the Loire, the building is regularly damaged. There remains only a door of the XIIth century, the construction today dating mainly from the XVth and XVIth centuries. Even quite recently, the town undertook restoration work, in particular with a series of stained glass windows signed by the master glassmaker Philippe Brissy.

The dense troglodyte habitat is illustrated here by the presence of remarkable seigneuries; La Grande Vignolle with its 1474th century flight and chapel and La Vignole, a XNUMXth century turreted manor house with its outbuildings dug into the rock. In XNUMX this manor is the property of Jean de La Vignolle appointed president of the Chamber of Accounts of Anjou by King René. Several properties belonging to Sieur de la Vignolle were made available to Marguerite d'Anjou, daughter of King René and Queen of England.

In Turquant there are also many dwellings and castles from the 1961th and XNUMXth centuries. La Chauvelière and La Herpinière belonged to the wine merchant Van Vorn who created the Dutch counter of Thoureil while La Mastinière was a dependency of the Abbey of Fontevraud. The Château de la Fessardière belonged to the Aubert du Petit-Thouars family and was the place of house arrest of Ahmed Ben Bella in XNUMX before he became the first president of the Algerian republic.

On the wine-growing plateau, the restored mills of Val Hulin and La Herpinière raise their wings to the wind. Among the oldest of Anjou they remind us that the millers were troglodytes and also a little winegrower. In the villages of the Côte Saumuroise perreyeux, coopers or boatmen all cultivated the vines and it was on the Loire boats that first white wines, and then reds, left for trade.

Activities and skills

The vineyard is a vector of economy with a dozen winegrowers installed in the town and practicing the direct sale of their wines in AOC Saumur. The tourist offers decline the world of troglodytes; exceptional accommodation or places to eat it is in the tuffeau that we stay in Turquant.

Traditional know-how can be discovered in the troglodyte site of the Pommes Tapées du Val de Loire, an unusual and flavorful place to visit. At the end of the 200th century, more than 500 ovens in the town were used to dry the fruit from the orchards of Vernantes and Noyant, while the English army bought XNUMX tonnes a year for the Royal Navy. This particular industry replaced for a time the cultivation of the vine at the time of the phylloxera crisis.

The Village Métiers d'Art welcomes professionals and artists whose workshops open into the rock, as well as a Boutique Métiers d'Art. The site combines tradition and heritage with a cultural and economic dynamism that forges a new image of the town.

Cycling stop on the Loire à Vélo circuit, horse-riding stop on a 20 km loop initiated by the Loire-Anjou-Touraine Regional Natural Park, motorhome service area, interpretive trail... the Little City of Character welcomes whatever your way of discovering the troglodytes of Saumur.

Public figures

 

Francois NAU (1646 – 1709) born in Turquant, son of a winegrower, he embarked from La Rochelle for New France in 1666. He was then in the service of Bertrand Chesnay de La Garenne. Married twice and father of 14 children, his descendants in North America (Nau, Nault, Neault, Naux) now number more than 18.000 people. In 1997, the Nau of America - association of Nau families Inc. - fixed a commemorative plaque in the Saint-Aubin church. Turquant then became "World Capital of the Nau" and the Nau of France set up their own association in 1999 (Nau, Naud, Neau… All cousins!).

Abel DUPETIT-THOUARS (1793 – 1864) French navigator and explorer born at the Château de la Fessardière in Turquant. He is a nephew of Aristide Aubert Du Petit-Thouars, hero of Aboukir. Under the Restoration, he participated in various hydrographic missions along the coasts of Newfoundland, France and Algeria. But its main field of activity is in the Pacific Ocean. He advised the government to annex the Marquesas Islands, a proposal approved by President François Guizot. Du Petit-Thouars annexed Tahiti in 1843. He was elected a free member of the Academy of Sciences on August 6, 1845. He became vice-admiral in 1846, then deputy for Maine-et-Loire in 1848. Died in Paris on March 16 1864, he rests in Père Lachaise.

Antoine CRISTAL (1837 – 1931) born in Turquant: his father, a traveling merchant of Auvergne origin, settled there. Very quickly introduced to the trade, he worked for a draper in Tours then became a traveling salesman in hosiery for the “Normand frères” company in Paris. For more than 20 years, he amassed a fortune, became the partner of his bosses before remaining the sole owner. His finesse of mind, his good nature, his enthusiasm and this budding fortune allow him to widen the circle of his relations. He thus binds to political personalities of the time: Alain Targé, Jules Ferry, Gambetta and especially Clémenceau but also artistic personalities such as the sculptor Jules Desbois. He became mayor of Turquant from 1884 to 1888. In 1887 he acquired the Château de Parnay and its vines. Henceforth the "Père Cristal", as he was then called, devoted himself entirely to viticulture. From his ingenious mind, a new conception of vine growing will soon come out: in the enclosure are built long tufa walls oriented from east to west. The vine is planted on the north side of the wall and the stock crosses it through an opening 50 cm high, to develop on the other side, facing south, foliage, flowers and grapes taking advantage of the sun as much as possible. The Clos d'entre les murs and the Clos Cristal initiated by Father Cristal have been registered since March 2011 as Historic Monuments.

 

For the XNUMXth century let us mention:

Guy Petitfils pupil of the Boulle school, creator of original drawings for the Daum crystal factory (Nancy) alongside César or Dali who renovated the Moulin de la Herpinière in the 70s. The writer Jean Vignaud who took Turquant as the setting for his Loire novels and renovated the Val Hulin mill which earned him the title of honorary miller of Anjou. Michel Debre who took the name of Turquant as a resistance fighter in 1941 and Lily Welcome concert performer and composer who made Turquant his haven of peace and his source of inspiration from 1970 to 1998.

Interactive Map

Loading...
Back to home pageMenu
Travel journal (0)
Travel journal
Add to travel diary
You will surely like:
Weekends & stays

Escape for a weekend...

Fancy a weekend alone, as a couple or with family? You want to please and gift an unusual and enticing stay? Don't hesitate any longer and book or gift one of our Destination Saumur Val de Loire weekends and stays.

 

Book a stay   Gift a stay

Cadre noir of Saumur
Gift a unique stay
Cadre Noir Gala Weekend
Travel smart

Book your tickets!

Are you more into castles or troglodytes? Animal parks or parks and gardens? Cruises on the Loire or a ride on the touristic train?

We offer you a wide choice of tickets at reduced prices for visits or activities! We also offer the ticket office for many events in the area.

 

Book your tickets

Tickets
Visits, activities, events
Prepare your stay

Find your accommodation

Match your accommodation to your stay! Saumur Val de Loire is an infinite range of accommodation (or almost) to get settled in the place that really suits you...

 

Book your accommodation 

To each their own accommodation
Hotel, bed and breakfast or campsite
Gift ideas & souvenirs

Saumur Spirit , The Gift Shop

Travelers or locals of the region, you can find a wide selection of articles: posters, souvenirs, guides, gourmet products, etc.

 

Online Shop

For more choice, go directly to our gift shops.

Saumur Spirit , The Gift Shop
To discover
An unprecedented range of memories

musée du moteur
Villes et Villages

Turquant

Entre Montsoreau et Saumur la falaise de tuffeau surplombe la Loire et se perce d’un bout à l’autre d’une série de caves, tantôt habitations troglodytiques, tantôt carrières…. Les villages naissent dans les vallons qui ponctuent le coteau tandis que vignes et moulins dessinent la ligne de crête. A Turquant plus qu’ailleurs se découvre ce paysage ligérien si caractéristique de la Côte Saumuroise. Aujourd’hui entre tradition et modernité les troglodytes se découvrent tout en originalité, particulièrement au Village des Métiers d’Art.

Histoire & Patrimoine

L'origine du nom Turquant est faite d’incertitude ; d’une racine gauloise turcos signifiant sanglier ou bien d’un patronyme d’homme scandinave dérivé du dieu guerrier Thor l’étymologie nous renvoie bien avant le Moyen-âge. Cependant, ce n’est qu’à partir de 1125 que l’on trouve mention de la paroisse dans les textes, un document citant comme prieur un certain "G. de Turcham".

L’église Saint-Aubin est construite au pied du coteau sur un terrain instable gagné sur le lit du fleuve. Par conséquent, au rythme des crues de Loire, l’édifice est régulièrement endommagé. Il ne reste qu’une porte du XIIème siècle, la construction aujourd’hui datant principalement des XVème et XVIème siècles. Encore tout récemment la commune a entrepris des travaux de restauration avec notamment une série de vitraux signés du maître-verrier Philippe Brissy.

L’habitat troglodytique dense s’illustre ici par la présence de seigneuries remarquables ; La Grande Vignolle avec sa fuie et sa chapelle du XVIème siècle et La Vignole, manoir à tourelle du XVème siècle avec ses dépendances creusées dans la roche. En 1474 ce manoir est la propriété de Jean de La Vignolle nommé président de la Chambre des Comptes d’Anjou par le Roi René. Plusieurs propriétés du sieur de la Vignolle furent mises à la disposition de Marguerite d’Anjou, fille du Roi René et reine d’Angleterre.

A Turquant se comptent aussi de nombreux logis et châteaux des XVIIème et XVIIIème siècles. La Chauvelière et La Herpinière ont appartenu au négociant en vin Van Vorn qui créa le comptoir hollandais du Thoureil tandis que La Mastinière était une dépendance de l’Abbaye de Fontevraud. Le Château de la Fessardière appartenait à la famille Aubert du Petit-Thouars et fut le lieu de résidence surveillée d’Ahmed Ben Bella en 1961 avant qu’il ne devienne le premier président de la république algérienne.

Sur le plateau viticole les moulins restaurés du Val Hulin et de la Herpinière dressent leurs ailes au vent. Parmi les plus vieux d’Anjou ils nous rappellent que les meuniers furent troglodytes et aussi un peu vigneron. Dans les villages de la Côte Saumuroise perreyeux, tonneliers ou bateliers cultivaient tous la vigne et c’est sur les bateaux de Loire que vins blancs tout d’abord, et rouges ensuite, partaient pour le négoce.

Activités et savoir-faire

Le vignoble est vecteur d’économie avec une dizaine de vignerons installés sur la commune et pratiquant la vente directe de leurs vins en AOC Saumur. Les offres touristiques déclinent le monde des troglodytes ; hébergements d’exception ou lieux de restauration c’est dans le tuffeau que l’on séjourne à Turquant.

Un savoir-faire traditionnel se découvre dans le site troglo des Pommes Tapées du Val de Loire, lieu de visite insolite et tout en saveur. A la fin du XIXème siècle plus de 200 fours dans la commune servaient à l’assèchement du fruit issu des vergers de Vernantes et Noyant tandis que l’armée anglaise achetait 500 tonnes par an à destination de la Royal Navy. Cette industrie particulière remplaça un temps la culture de la vigne au moment de la crise du phylloxéra.

Le Village Métiers d’Art accueille des professionnels et des artistes dont les ateliers s’ouvrent dans le rocher, ainsi qu'une Boutique Métiers d'Art. Le site mêle tradition et patrimoine avec un dynamisme culturel et économique qui forge une nouvelle image de la commune.

Halte cycliste sur le circuit de La Loire à Vélo, halte équestre d’une boucle de 20 km initiée par le Parc Naturel Régional Loire-Anjou-Touraine, aire de service camping-car, sentier d'interprétation… la Petite Cité de Caractère vous accueille quelque soit votre manière de découvrir les troglodytes du saumurois.

musée du moteur

Personnalités publiques

 

François NAU (1646 – 1709) né à Turquant, fils de vigneron, il embarque depuis La Rochelle pour la Nouvelle France en 1666. Il est alors au service de Bertrand Chesnay de La Garenne. Marié deux fois et père de 14 enfants, sa descendance en Amérique du Nord (Nau, Nault, Neault, Naux) compte aujourd’hui plus de 18.000 personnes. En 1997, les Nau d'Amérique - association des familles Nau Inc. - fixent une plaque commémorative dans l’église Saint-Aubin. Turquant devient alors "Capitale mondiale des Nau" et les Nau de France constituent leur propre association en 1999 (Nau, Naud, Neau… Tous cousins !).

Abel DUPETIT-THOUARS (1793 – 1864) navigateur et explorateur français né au château de la Fessardière à Turquant. C’est un neveu d’Aristide Aubert Du Petit-Thouars, héros d’Aboukir. Sous la Restauration, il participe à diverses missions hydrographiques le long des côtes de Terre-Neuve, de France et d Algérie. Mais son champ d’activité principal se situe dans l’océan Pacifique. Il conseille au gouvernement l’annexion des îles Marquises, proposition agréée par le président François Guizot. Du Petit-Thouars annexe Tahiti en 1843. Il est élu membre libre de l’Académie des sciences le 6 août 1845. Il devient vice-amiral en 1846, puis député du Maine-et-Loire en 1848. Mort à Paris le 16 mars 1864, il repose au Père Lachaise.

Antoine CRISTAL (1837 – 1931) né à Turquant : son père, marchand ambulant d’origine auvergnate, s’y est établi. Très vite initié au commerce, il travaille pour un drapier de Tours puis devient voyageur de commerce en bonneterie pour l'entreprise « Normand frères » de Paris. Pendant plus de 20 ans, il amasse fortune, devient l’associé de ses patrons avant de rester seul propriétaire. Sa finesse d'esprit, sa bonhommie, son enthousiasme et cette fortune naissante lui permettent d'élargir le cercle de ses relations. Il se lie ainsi à des personnalités politiques de l'époque : Alain Targé, Jules Ferry, Gambetta et surtout Clémenceau mais aussi des personnalités artistiques tel le sculpteur Jules Desbois. Il devient maire de Turquant de 1884 à 1888. En 1887 il acquiert le Château de Parnay et ses vignes. Désormais le « Père Cristal », comme on l'appelle alors, se consacre entièrement à la viticulture. De son esprit ingénieux, va bientôt sortir une nouvelle conception de la culture de la vigne : dans le clos sont construits de longs murs de tuffeau orientés d'est en ouest. Le pied de vigne est planté côté nord du mur et le cep le traverse par un orifice situé à 50 cm de hauteur, pour se développer de l'autre côté, plein sud, feuillages, fleurs et grappes profitant un maximum du soleil. Le Clos d’entre les murs et le Clos Cristal initiés par le Père Cristal sont inscrits depuis mars 2011 au titre des Monuments Historiques.

 

Pour le XXème siècle citons :

Guy Petitfils élève de l’école Boulle, créateur de dessins originaux pour la cristallerie Daum (Nancy) aux cotés de César ou Dali qui rénova le Moulin de la Herpinière dans les années 70. L’écrivain Jean Vignaud qui prit Turquant pour cadre de ses romans ligériens et rénova le moulin du Val Hulin qui lui valut le titre de meunier honoraire d’Anjou. Michel Debré qui prit le nom de Turquant comme nom de résistant en 1941 et Lily Bienvenu concertiste et compositeur qui fit de Turquant son havre de paix et sa source d'inspiration de 1970 à 1998.

Carte Interactive

Chargement...
Retour à l'accueil Menu
Carnet de voyage (0)
Carnet de voyage
Ajouter au carnet de voyage
Vous aimerez sûrement :

Echappez-vous le temps d'un week-end...

Envie d'un week-end en solo, en duo ou en famille ? Envie de faire plaisir et d'offrir un séjour insolite et dépaysant ? N'hésitez plus et réservez ou offrez l'un de nos week-ends et séjours Destination Saumur Val de Loire.

Réserver un séjour

Offrir un séjour

Escale romantique
Une parenthèse ligérienne en duo

Séjournez malin, réservez vos billets !

Vous êtes plutôt Château ou Troglo ? Parc animalier ou parcs et jardins ? Croisières sur la Loire ou balade en petit train ?

On vous propose un large choix de billets à tarifs réduits pour des visites ou des activités ! Et également la billetterie de nombreux événements de la destination.

Réserver vos billets

Office de tourisme de Saumur
La billetterie
Visites, activités, événements

Choisissez votre hébergement

Accordez votre hébergement à votre séjour ! Saumur Val de Loire, c’est une gamme de logements déclinée à l’infini (ou presque) pour poser vos valises à l’endroit qui vous correspond vraiment…

Réserver votre hébergement 

Suite de l'hôtel La Marine de Loire à Montsoreau
Hôtel ou chambre d'hôtes
À chacun son hébergement

Esprit Saumur, La Boutique

Vacanciers ou habitants de la région, retrouvez une sélection pointue d'articles : affiches, souvenirs, topo-guides, produits gourmands, etc.

Pour plus de choix, rendez-vous directement dans nos boutiques.

Boutique en ligne

Esprit Saumur, La Boutique
La vie est belle à Saumur
Une gamme de souvenirs inédite